Skip to main content
past award winners

2019 Sustainability Awards

In celebration of UC San Diego's Earth Month, the Advisory Committee on Sustainability will recognize individuals and groups that have made our campus more sustainable.

To nominate an individual or group for a Sustainability Award, complete the online Nomination Form below. If you have questions, contact Sustainability Resource Center Manager, Jennifer Bowser.


  • Deadline: Nominations must be submitted by 11:59 p.m. Monday, March 11, 2019.
  • Sustainability is defined as meeting the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs. Sustainability issues may include an overlap of environmental, economic or social equity related issues.
  • Individual or group activities and projects occurring or culminating after Earth Week 2018 are eligible for nomination.
  • Previously nominated activities or projects must clearly demonstrate new or innovative progress and development to be considered for 2018 awards.
  • Nominations must include activity or project details.
  • Nominators may choose to remain anonymous.
  • Nominators may submit more than one nomination.
  • Nominees must be closely affiliated with UC San Diego and have worked outside the capacity of their job descriptions to advance one or more of the Advisory Committee on Sustainability's goals to:
    • Make sustainability part of UC San Diego's ongoing education, research, planning, operation or outreach programs
    • Share information about UC San Diego's education, research, planning, operation or outreach activities related to environmental stewardship and sustainability with the campus community and the public
  • Award categories include: 
    • Outstanding Student
    • Outstanding Faculty
    • Outstanding Staff
    • Outstanding Student Group
    • Outstanding Department
    • Outstanding Alumni
    • Outstanding Campus Vendor: This award will be given to a vendor that has made UC San Diego more sustainable through the product(s) or service it provides.
  • The Award Review Committee will select one winner in each category and may contact nominators or collaborative partners for verification.

Awards Ceremony

All nominees will be recognized and award recipients will be honored at the Sustainability Awards ceremony on Thursday, May 9, 3:30–4:30 p.m. at The Loft.

Nomination Form

Past Winners


Read their nominations.

  • Alumni: Ben Baker
  • Campus Vendor: Clark Construction and HKS Architects
  • Department: Urban Studies & Planning
  • Faculty: Dr. Greg Daniels
  • Staff: Allyson Long
  • Student: Nikko Bouck
  • Student Group: Roger’s Community Garden


  • Campus Vendor – My Green Lab
  • Department – Integrated Procure-to-Pay Solutions
  • Faculty – Dr. Seth Cohen
  • Staff – Alison Sanchirico
  • Student – Mukta Kelkar
  • Student Group – Food Recovery Network


  • Outstanding Undergraduate Student: Natalia King
  • Outstanding Graduate Student: Maitreyi Nagarkar
  • Outstanding Faculty: Leslie Lewis
  • Outstanding Staff: Chris Johnson
  • Outstanding Student Group: Engineers for a Sustainable World
  • Outstanding Department: Early Childhood Education Center
  • Outstanding Individual: Baris Aksanli
  • Outstanding Collaboration: Ocean View Growing Grounds
  • Outstanding Campus Vendor: VWR

Read more about awardees.


No awards presented.


  • Outstanding Undergraduate Student: Donald Zelaya
  • Outstanding Graduate Student: Jeremy Turak
  • Outstanding Faculty: Dr. Tom Murphy
  • Outstanding Staff: S. Earl Kang
  • Outstanding Student Group: Ellie's Garden
  • Outstanding Collaboration: Preuss School & Engineers for a Sustainable World
  • Outstanding Campus Food Vendor: Food Co-op


  • Outstanding Undergraduate Student: Allison Platt
  • Outstanding Graduate Student: Susan Kram
  • Outstanding Staff: Kim Kane
  • Outstanding Faculty: Dr. Lynn Russell
  • Outstanding Student Group: Engineers for a Sustainable World
  • Outstanding Collaboration: Facilities Management Building Services & Landscape Services
  • Outstanding Collaboration: San Diego Biodiversity Project
  • Outstanding Food Vendor: Yogurt World
  • Outstanding Individual: Ronnie Das


  • Outstanding Undergraduate Students: Jessica Baltmanas and Annie Le
  • Outstanding Graduate Student: Jennifer Hull
  • Outstanding Student Group: Neighborhood Community Garden
  • Outstanding Faculty: Yuvraj Agarwal
  • Outstanding Staff: Jerry Phelps
  • Outstanding Collaboration: USGBC Students of UCSD/SDSU


  • Outstanding Undergraduate Students: Allison Weston
  • Outstanding Graduate Student: Andrew Markley
  • Outstanding Faculty: Prashant Bharadwa
  • Outstanding Staff: Kristin Hansen
  • Outstanding Department: HDH Food Scrap Recycling Program
  • Outstanding Student Group: Own Your Impact
  • Outstanding Student Group: UCSD Triathlon Team
  • Outstanding Academic Group: Media Services
  • Outstanding Individual: Sharmila Krishnamurty
  • Outstanding Collaboration: Sustainability Resource Center


  • Outstanding Individual: Matt Finkelstein
  • Outstanding Collaboration: Latham & Watkins, Stone & Youngberg, Michael Gollner, Kevin Peng, Karl Olney, Ihab Kayhal
  • Outstanding Faculty: Robert Pomeroy
  • Outstanding Graduate Student: Lindsay Hatch
  • Outstanding Undergraduate Student: Anne Marie Ferruzzi
  • Outstanding Staff: Judy Keplinger
  • Outstanding Academic Group: Global Responsibility and Innovation Network (GRAIN)
  • Outstanding Student Group: Ecology Club
  • Outstanding Department: Surplus Sales


  • Overall Individual: Bill Scripps
  • Faculty: Steve Kay, Kim Prather
  • Undergraduate students: Erika Kociolek, Ashley Ferrer
  • Graduate students: Kathy Lin, Melanie Zauscher
  • Staff: Martin Klein, Breda Walsh
  • Academic organization: GreenLight Project
  • Student organization: Environmental Science & Policy, Net Impact
  • Department: Early Care & Education Mesa Child Development Center, EH&S Green team


  • Community Leader: Byron Washom
  • Leadership in Sustainability: Lisa Shaffer
  • Faculty: Jan Kleissl, Gabriele Wienhausen
  • undergraduate student: June Reyes
  • Graduate student: Meagan Moore
  • Staff: Jim Ruby, Christi Gilhoi
  • Student organization: Green Campus Program
  • Departments: Bookstore, Auxiliary & Plant Services Marketing & Communications